TGL: Tiger and Rory’s Bay Golf Club announced, completing 6th and final team

The sixth and final TGL team from Tiger Woods and Rory McIlroy’s virtual golf league has finally been announced.

The Bay Area-based franchise, co-owned by three NBA legends, Stephen Curry, Andre Iguodala, and Klay Thompson revealed its team Monday.

World No. 3 Wyndham Clark, No. 6 Ludvig Åberg, Min Woo Lee and Shane Lowry make up The Bay Golf Club squad.

This sixth team brings fun, swagger, and excitement to the game of golf. Their goal is to provide unparalleled insight into sports‘ impact on culture.

Their branding pay tribute to the team’s Northern California roots. The logo features a redwood forest with golf-related elements, and the color palette reflects the region’s landscape and allure.

The Bay Golf Club, TGL

The Bay Golf Club

The four-time NBA Champions partnered with the Chairman and CEO of Avenue Capital Group, Marc Lasry, after he helped transform the Milwaukee Bucks organization. Lasry helped build a new arena in Deer District, which guided the franchise to its first NBA Championship in 50 years.

“Avenue Sports Fund invested in The Bay Golf Club because we are excited to bring a new team and innovative game to the growing number of Golf fans regionally and nationally,” Lasry said in a press release. “We believe The Bay Golf Club will be a beloved team in Northern California and beyond. We are looking forward to the launch of TGL in January 2025, and we are using this year to build excitement, energy, and passion for our team and the league.”

All four players rank in the Top 40 on the Official World Golf Rankings.

Åberg, Lowry and Woo Lee bring an international flavor to the team, while Clark pulls in the American demographic. The Bay Golf Club will have fans from Sweden, Ireland, Australia, and the United States. It is truly an international effort. They have a combined social following of nearly two million people.

It was a significant investment for Avenue Sports Fund, which is the majority owner of the team. In addition to the three NBA stars, The Bay Golf Club also has ownership through English soccer star John Stones, Formula 1 driver Alex Albon, and Olympic surfers Leonardo Fiorvanti and Kanoa Igarashi.

All six teams have been announced, with 23 of 24 players on rosters. Rory McIlroy’s Boston Common Golf still needs one more player to replace Tyrrell Hatton, who left for LIV Golf.

TGL begins in January 2025 and will air in primetime television slots on ESPN.

Savannah Leigh Richardson is a golf staff writer for SB Nation’s Playing Through. For more golf coverage, be sure to follow us @_PlayingThrough on all major social platforms. You can also follow her on Twitter @SportsGirlSL and Instagram @savannah_leigh_sports.

Source link

About The Author

Scroll to Top